Piazza di Siena: waiting for the Rolex Grand Prix

The Rolex Grand Prix is the most important competition in the show programme, with only the very best riders qualifying to fight for the prestigious title on the final day.

Poland’s Adam Krolikiewicz was the very first winner with Picador in 1926, and the last winner was Ireland’s Denis Lynch who reigned supreme with Brooklyn Heights in 2022. This was the fifth Irish victory in the history of the Grand Prix of Rome following Captain John Lewis with Limerick Lace in 1938, Captain William Ringrose with Loch an Easpaig in 1961 and Eddie Macken with the legendary Boomerang in 1978 before Lynch first won the title with Lantinus in 2008.

Holding the record for most wins in the Grand Prix is Italy’s Piero d’Inzeo who held the trophy aloft on five occasions between 1962 and 1973. The most successful horse has been the great Flambeau C, ridden to victory by Frédéric Cottier from France in 1980, 1982 and 1984.

Italy has enjoyed 23 victories posted by 13 different riders while France has won 20 times with 14 different athletes. The trophy has gone to Germany on 10 occasions, with Franke Sloothaak scoring back-to-back wins in 1995 and 1996 with San Patrignano Joly Coeur. The last Italian winner was Lorenzo De Luca with Halifax van het Kluizebos in 2018.

There are only six lady riders on the Grand Prix of Rome Roll of Honour: the Americans Anne Kursinski in 1983, Margie Goldstein-Engle in 1997 and Chiara Bronfman in 2002, Australia’s Vicky Roycroft with Apache in 1987, Germany’s Helena Weinberg with Just Malone in 1988 and Eugenie Angot from France with Cigale du Tallis in 2004.

Press Release
In the picture: Denis Lynch, winner in the Rolex Gran Premio Roma 2022 - ph. Sport e Salute / S. Ferraro