Sweden’s Henrik von Eckermannand the amazing King Edward will be the headline act when the 90th anniversary CSIO Rome-Master d’Inzeo gets underway at the beautiful Piazza di Siena this week. However the horse and rider partnership who have swept all before them in recent years will face plenty of tough opposition during the 2023 fixture that will run from 25 to 28 May.

Amongst the star-studded field of 81 riders from 18 different countries are four of the top five in the current world rankings including von Eckermann who continues to hold the number one slot, on-form flying Frenchman Julien Epaillard who lies second, double European medallist Martin Fuchs from Switzerland who sits in fourth place and Dutchman Harrie Smolders whose sheer consistency leaves him in fifth. Also lining out will be reigning Olympic champion Ben Maher from Great Britain.

Last month Von Eckermann added the coveted World Cup title to the team gold he won at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games and the team and individual gold he secured at last summer’s FEI Jumping World Championships in Denmark. He’s clearly on a roll, and he already knows what it is to be a winner at arguably the most iconic horseshow in the world.


He claimed the Rome Grand Prix title in 2015 and led Team Sweden to only their second victory in the long anddistinguished history of the Nations Cup at Piazza di Siena when producing one of just two double-clears in the hard-fought team competition in 2019.This year he will be joined by Angelica Augustsson Zanotelli, Jens Fredricson, Wilma Hellstrom and Evelina Tovek in the Swedish side to battle it out againstBelgium,Brazil,Germany,GreatBritain,Ireland,Italy,TheNetherlands,Switzerlandand last year’s winners from France, in the Intesa Sanpaolo Nations Cupon Friday afternoon (May 25).

The French have posted 22 victories in the Rome Nations Cup which dates all the way back to1926, and they come armed with a steller crew once again that includes Epaillard, Gregory Cottard,Simon Delestre,Marc Dilasser and Kevin Staut. Italy however have posted the most wins with a total of 29 including a back-to-back double in 2017 and 2018, and they’ll be hoping to do it all over again this time around.


The €1m in prize money up for grabs throughout the week is a major incentive, and the startlist this year includes six previous Rome Grand Prix champions. Ireland’s Denis Lync hlifted the Rolex Grand Prix trophy for the second time in his career when coming outon top12 months ago and is back to try to make it a three-peat on Sunday afternoon (28 May).

Daniel Bluman made history when posting Israel’s first-ever victory in 2019, while Lorenzo De Luca kept the trophy at home a year earlier. The Netherlands’Jur Vrielingreigned supreme in 2017,von Eckermann won in 2015 and Britain’s John Whitaker topped the podium in 2007.


 Piero d’Inzeo an d The Rock © E qui - Equipe Archive Piero d’Inzeo an d The Rock © E qui - Equipe Archive


There is a lot about CSIO Rome that is totally unique including its location in the charming Villa Borghese public park in the heart of the Eternal City.The maintenance of the areas around the showground, which throughout the year is experienced as one of the mostimportant meeting points in the park, has for years been looked after of by the organisers of the  CSIO(Sport eSalute and FISE), whoover time have completedimportant restoration interventions on the architectonic andmonumental elements.



Piaz za di Siena 'Opera Italiana is in the Air’ 2022 © Sport e Salute / Simone Ferraro Piazza di Siena Opera Italiana is in the Air’ 2022 © Sport e Salute / Simone Ferraro

To celebrate the opening of the 90th edition of the show, Intesa Sanpaoloand the Italian Equestrian Sports Federation present' Opera Italiana is in the Air’, directed by Maestro Alvise Casellati. Taking place in the green oval the evening before the show begins (24 May; 7 pm), this will be free-of-charge to the public and will setthe stage for four more days of unforgettable sport. Don’t miss a moment.....


Press Release
Image: Henrik von Eckermann and King Edward © FEI/Leanjo De Koster