The Lorensberg Theatre in the city of Gothenburg played host tonight to the draws for FEI World Cup™ Jumping Final.

Peder Fredricson and Italy’s Lorenzo de Luca drew these names and numbers and it was no surprise that Fredricson was all smiles after shooting up to third in the new world rankings confirmed today.

He’s drawn fourth to go in tomorrow’s competition while de Luca will go 22nd of the 33 starters. Switzerland’s Beat Mandli will be first into the ring followed by German legend Ludger Beerbaum, but all eyes will be on defending champion America’s Beezie Madden who is nicely-drawn in fourth-last place. It’s going to be fast and furious as riders try to ensure a competitive spot going into Friday’s second competition.

Home hero, Henrik von Eckermann, goes just before de Luca while Germany’s Christian Ahlmann is drawn 25th and fellow-countryman Daniel Deusser 27th. World silver medallist, Switzerland’s Martin Fuchs, will be 14th into the ring but one of the speediest men on the planet however is his compatriot Steve Guerdat. The individual world bronze medallist and double FEI Jumping World Cup™ champion is competing in his 13th Final and, having retained the World No. 1 spot in the new rankings, will be on fire when he follows Madden into the ring, third-last to go.

Starting order for Longines FEI World Cup™ Jumping 2019 Final Competition 1 here

Facts and Figures:

Defending champion, America’s Beezie Madden, is chasing her second consecutive and  third overall Longines FEI Jumping World Cup™ title.

She posted her first win in Gothenburg in 2013 and came out on top again in Paris (FRA) last year.

The first FEI World Cup™ Jumping Final took place in Gothenburg in 1979 where Austria’s Hugo Simon was crowned champion with Gladstone.

This is the 15th time for the Swedish city to the FEI Jumping World Cup™ Final.

Four riders have won the FEI World Cup™ Jumping title on three occasions: Hugo Simon (AUT), Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum and Marcus Ehning (GER) and Rodrigo Pessoa from Brazil. Pessoa is the only rider to have won three back-to-back titles on the same horse, the stallion Baloubet du Rouet. 

The youngest Jumping riders competing this year are both 20 - Eve Jobs USA and Khaled Abdulrahman Almobty KSA. Youngest ever Jumping winner was Canada’s Mario Deslauriers who was just 19 when coming out on top with Aramis in Gothenburg in 1984.

image: Yvonne Losos de Muniz (DOM), Peder Fredricson (SWE), Patrik Kittel (SWE) and Lorenzo de Luca (ITA) drew the order-of-go for the FEI World Cup™ Finals in Gothenburg (SWE) this evening. (FEI/Liz Gregg)