About the The Rolex Grand Slam of Show Jumping

 The Rolex Grand Slam of Show Jumping unites the Majors in Aachen (GER), Geneva (SUI), Calgary (CAN) and ‘s-Hertogenbosch (NED) in the challenge for the most prestigious and most difficult-to-win trophy on the international equestrian sport circuit.

The rider, who triumphs at three shows in succession, wins the Rolex Grand Slam of Show Jumping – together with one million Euros on top of the prize-money. Should a rider win the fourth Major in direct succession after claiming the Grand Slam victory, he doubles his Grand Slam bonus up to two million Euros. Two Major victories within a Grand Slam cycle are rewarded with 250,000 Euros or 500,000 Euros, if the victories occur at two consecutive legs of the Grand Slam. Irrespective of the calendar year, each rider’s personal Grand Slam cycle begins individually with his first Major victory.

Scott Brash from Great Britain went down in history as the first and only winner of the Grand Slam to-date: He won in Geneva in 2014 as well as in Aachen and Calgary in 2015. At the opening leg of the Rolex Grand Slam of Show Jumping, the CHIO Aachen 2017, the British show-jumper once again has the opportunity to pick up a Grand Slam bonus, since after his repeated victory at the Spruce Meadows ‘Masters’ CSIO in 2016, a further victory at this year’s World Equestrian Festival would mean he is entitled to claim the 250,000-Euro bonus for two non-consecutive Major victories within one Grand Slam cycle.

As the current Grand Slam contender, Pedro Veniss will be striving to jump to victory in his second Major in succession in Aachen. The Brazilian rider won the “Rolex Grand Prix” at the CHI Geneva 2016 last December.

press release