Congratulations to the Mitsubishi Motors Badminton Horse Trials 2016 winner: Michael Jung (GER) and La Biosthetique – Sam FBW

Congratulations to the Mitsubishi Motors Badminton Horse Trials 2016 winner: Michael Jung (GER) and La Biosthetique – Sam FBW.

They also claims the prestigious Rolex Grand Slam having won in succession three premiere CCI**** events in America and Britain.

This amazing couple achieved all the medals and trophies that any event rider dreams to win as a coronation of his career. He is only 30 years old and he is a legend already! He is the current Olympic, European, World champion and he won all the major international events and of course he has just won the Rolex Gran Slam trophy.


In 2001 Rolex was inspired to link the three foremost Eventing competitions in the world into a Grand Slam. Badminton – the British horse trials on which  the  modern sport of eventing was founded, Kentucky – the premier US event, and Burghley – the East of England’s showpiece event, formed the competition.

Every year these three events attract world class competition and crowds of enthusiastic supporters eager to bear witness to equestrian greatness. It became immediately apparent that, completing the challenge and winning the Rolex Grand Slam of Eventing, would require a series of outstanding performances from a remarkable athlete.

Since its inception in 2001, only one rider has risen to the challenge: Britain’s much loved and highly decorated team member, Pippa Funnell. In April 2003 she rode Primmore’s Pride to victory at Rolex Kentucky, beginning her Rolex Grand Slam campaign. A week later, this time riding double European champion Supreme Rock, Funnell was crowned Badminton winner. A few months later, Funnell reigned supreme at Burghley, riding Primmore’s Pride again, outperforming fellow Rolex Testimonee Zara Phillips, who finished in second place. Pippa Funnell immediately joined the ranks of sporting greats and became a Rolex Testimonee.

Since then, two of the three legs of the Rolex Grand Slam of Eventing have been won by four different riders: Australia’s Andrew Hoy, Britain’s William Fox-Pitt and Oliver Townend, and New Zealand’s Andrew Nicholson. None of these top-class riders have yet succeeded in triumphing over the series and winning the final element of the Rolex Grand Slam of Eventing.