The German team proved too good for its rivals in today’s Furusiyya FEI Nations Cup™ of Great Britain, the feature class at the Longines Royal International Horse Show at Hickstead.

The quartet of Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum (Fibonacci 17), Janne Friederike Meyer (Goja 27), Patrick Stühlmeyer (Lacan 2) and Ludger Beerbaum (Chiara 222) finished on a score of just four faults, ahead of Ireland and Belgium, who shared second place with eight faults.

Germany has a superb record here at Hickstead, winning the Edward, Prince of Wales Trophy five times in the past decade, and today they once again proved themselves to be a class above the rest. Such was the strength of the team’s performance, anchorman Ludger Beerbaum did not have to start in either round.

“We had a great team – it’s not often the last rider doesn’t have to jump in both rounds,” said pathfinder Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum.

Chef d’equipe Otto Becker added: “It was a great performance today and all these guys here deserve the victory - I’m very happy with that.”

Today was a crucial competition for Great Britain. They started well, finishing on four faults in round one, but 16 faults accrued in round two dropped them to sixth place overall. This means they will be relegated from European Division One in next year’s Furusiyya FEI Nations Cup series.

Earlier this morning, Nicole Pavitt clocked up another win in the International Arena, this time riding Virginia Quine’s 14-year-old gelding Victor Blue. Pavitt topped the field of 34 in the Bunn Leisure International Stakes, recording the fastest clear round by 1.7sec and qualifying for Saturday’s British Speed Classic. Pavitt defied an ankle injury sustained in a fall earlier this week to take the honours.

“He’s naturally quick and likes to think he’s in control, so this type of class suits him,” she said of Victor Blue. “You know nine out of ten times he’ll be clear and fast. He’s brilliant, my horse of a lifetime really. We’ll see what tomorrow brings in the Speed Classic.”

In the showing classes, Katrina Braithwaite defended her crown in the Nettex Supreme Working Hunter Championship with Killderry Rupert. Katrina has owned the nine-year-old gelding for just over four years. “Before I bought him he hunted, so the tracks here suit him,” she said. “He’s so rideable and always tries to please. It’s magical to win after producing him myself.”

Allister Hood took the Saracen Horse Feeds Supreme Riding Horse Championship with Diamonds Are Forever. Owner Annabel Jenks bred the seven year old, who only went out a couple of times as a four year old. Allister said: “It’s lucky Annabel was so patient as he hasn’t been out over the past couple of years. He’s really grown into himself and our patience has paid off because he’s unbeaten this season.”


1.    Germany 4 faults: Fibonacci 17 (Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum) 0/0, Goja 27 (Janne Friederike Meyer) 0/0, Lacan 2 (Patrick Stuhlmeyer) 0/4, Chiara (Ludger Beerbaum) DNS/DNS.

2.    Ireland 8 faults: Molly Malone V (Bertram Allen) 4/4, Diaghilev (Billy Twomey) 0/4, Aristio (Anthony Condon) 0/0, Golden Hawk (Shane Breen) Ret/0.

2.   Belgium 8 faults: H&M Challenge vd Begijnakker Z (Olivier Philippaerts) 4/4, Gaucho Da Qinta (Catherine van Roosebroeck) 8/10, Cas de Liberte (Niels Bruynseels) 0/0, Cor van de Wateringhoeve (Karel Cox) 0/0.

4.    USA 12 faults: Super Sox (Lillie Keenan) 4/0, Adare (Paris Sellon) 4/4, Dougie Douglas (Katherine Dinan) 4/0, Cornet 39 (Lauren Hough) 8/0.

4.    Switzerland 12 faults: LB Eagle Eye (Christina Liebherr) 4/4, Capuera ll (Nadja Peter Steiner) 4/0, Cordel (Claudia Gisler) 0/8, Pollendr (Werner Muff) 4/0.

6.    Great Britain 20 faults: Dive ll (Ben Maher) 4/4, Fleur de L’Aube (Tim Stockdale) 0/4, Spirit T (Jessica Mendoza) 0/8, Hello Guv’Nor (Scott Brash) 4/8.

7.    Italy 28 faults: Casallo Z (Piergiorgio Bucci) 4/8, Ensor de Litrange (Lorenzo de Luca) 0/Ret, Ares (Emilio Bicocchi) 4/8, Antonio (Gianni Govoni) 0/8.

7.    Netherlands 28 faults: Aquila SFN (Wout-Jan van der Schans) 0/4, Fernando (Johnny Pals) 12/12, Audi’s Teavanta ll (Ruben Romp) 0/12, VDL Glasgow VH Merelsnest (Jur Vrieling) 0/12.