The new IJRC President Kevin Staut, won the Rolex IJRC Top10 in great style!

Kevin Staut, who was elected yesterday the new President of the International Jumping Riders Club, won the Rolex IJRC top 10 2017 aboard his Rio Olympic team gold medal winning partner Reveur de Hurtebise HDC (Kashmir Van Schuttershof x Capricieux des 6 Censes). Staut rode two effective  beautiful rounds– crossing the finish line as the faster combination in the arena.

The audience on the sold-out grandstands was very excited to watch one of the most competitive Show Jumping contest in the world with only the Top Ten riders in the global rankings invited to go head-to-head. Only a brilliant sportsman or sports-woman able to perform at their very best on every occasion, is capable of winning this elite competition, which demands exceptional timing, courage and skill.

Ten riders, ten styles and ten personalities are the focus of this event, based on the idea that it is very important to give a face to these champions and of introducing them to the public. At the end of the first course the riders dismount from their horses and walk back into the arena to be interviewed by the Sports Director of the CHI Geneva: Alban Poudret.

This formula also thinks of the horses’ welfare, without forcing them to pause immediately after jumping the course because the rider has to be interviewed.
According to scientific research, the average spectator is able to watch television, without inter- ruption, for no more than 45 minutes at a time. With this in mind, a competition was created that was just 40 minutes long.

The shorter competition format created for the Top Ten has proved to be ideal for TV and has un- doubtedly contributed to the large global audience who watch the show from around the world.

Again with television in mind, it was decided that the contest should have a small number of star- ters and ten riders seemed about right.

As selection criteria is determined by a rider’s position in the Rankings, the event naturally attracts some of the most well-known and accomplished athletes in the world and creates an exciting atmosphere which is unique in indoor jumping events.

It was a thrilling competition were only two combinations managed to stay clear over the two rounds. Kevin Staut was the fastest one with Reveur de Hurtebise HDC (s. Kashmir van Schuttershof). With his time of 40.90 seconds he was far ahead of Scott Brash and his mare Ursula XII (s. Ahorn). They finished their second round in 42.83 seconds. Peder Fredricson completed the podium with H&M Christian K (s. Namelus R) after getting one time penalty in the first round.

The top five was completed by the winner of last year, Eric Lamaze with Fine Lady 5 (s. Forsyth FRH) and Lorenzo De Luca with Ensor de Litrange LXII (s. Nabab de Rêve). Lamaze got four penalties in the first round and De Luca had the last one down in the second round.

The cerimony of price giving was particular emotional, because in the occasion of the 40 year Anniversary of the Club, the current IJRC Director Eleonora Moroni Ottaviani was joined by David Broome one of the four founder of the IJRC in 1977 and Cayetano Martínez de Irujo, one of the former IJRC President.

IMAGE: Podium: Peder Fredricson, Kevin Staut & Scott Brash; Cayetano Martínez de Irujo former IJRC President;  Eleonora Moroni Ottaviani the current IJRC Director; David Broome founder of the IJRC in 1977.